STARS TURN OUT TO HONOR THE BEST WEB SITES OF THE YEAR AT THE WEBBY AWARDS 2000®

SAN FRANCISCO, CA – MAY 11, 2000 – Capping a watershed year for the Internet, 3,000 digital dignitaries and wired celebs turned out to bestow Webby Awards on more than two dozen of the year's best Web sites.

Presided over with wicked wit by Tony Award-winning actor Alan Cumming, the fast-paced, irreverent ceremony clocked in at under two hours thanks to the Webbys' strict five-words-or-less speech limit. (For a complete list of winners' speeches, go to http://www.webbyawards.com/press/index.html).

An eclectic roster of stars, including comedian Sandra Bernhard, famed editor Tina Brown, and Mahir Cagri, the celebrated Turkish creator of the wildly popular Web site I Kiss http://members.xoom.com/_XOOM/primall/mahir/index.html, were also on hand to present this year's awards.

Widely hailed as "the Oscars of the Internet," The Webby Awards are the leading international honors for Web sites. The awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, a diverse, 350-person organization whose membership includes David Bowie, Francis Ford Coppola, Julia Child, Robin Williams, Esther Dyson, Simpsons creator Matt Groening, Parker Posey, and Deepak Chopra.

Crowd-pleasing favorites and a few controversial picks highlighted the evening as winners were called onstage to accept the coveted slinky-like statuettes. (See complete list of winners below)

Big winners included the music file-sharing site Napster http://www.napster.com, which was named Best Music Site by both the Academy and by the more than 134,000 Web fans who registered to vote in the People's Voice Awards, The Webby Awards' tribute to democracy on the Web.

Other sites earning dual accolades included: Cocky Bastard a.k.a. John Halcyon Styn (http://www.cockybastard.com), which nabbed Best Personal Web Site, a new category; search engine Google http://www.google.com (Best Technical Achievement); Merriam-Webster Word Central http://www.wordcentral.com (Best Education Site); Scholastic.com (Best Kids Site), ESPN.com http://www.espn.com (Best Sports Site), and four-time Webby winner The Onion http://www.theonion.com (Best Humor Site).

Other Webby Awards' winners ranged from Web stalwarts such as MSNBC.com http://www.msnbc.com (Best TV Site) and Babycenter.com http://www.babycenter.com (Best Commerce Site) to unheard of gems such as France's The Cave of Lascaux http://www.culture.fr/culture/arcnat/lascaux/en (Best Science Site)

And, in what could constitute a virtual sweep, Slashdot.org http://slashdot.org, took People's Voice Awards home in both of the categories for which it was nominated: Best Community Site and Best News Site.

"This year's winners hail from South Park, the South of France, Soho, and all points in between," said Tiffany Shlain, the founder and director of The Webby Awards. "What links them, however, is that they represent the best of the best in a medium that knows no boundaries. We're incredibly proud to shine the Webby spotlight on these extraordinary sites and the amazing people behind them."

This year's ceremony also marked the debut of the SFMOMA Webby Prize for Excellence in Online Art. The $30,000 prize was awarded to Entropy8Zuper!, the Belgium-based team of Michael Samyn and Auriea Harvey. Three artists – Ichiro Aikawa, Young-hae Chang and Rafael Lozano-Hemmer – were recognized with honorable mentions and $6500 apiece. The winning artists will be featured in e.space at http://www.sfmoma.org.

Shlain attributed the diversity of this year's nominees to the Webbys' first ever call for entries, which she said resulted in thousands of submissions from more than 27 countries. She said that aspiring Webby winners can submit their sites for consideration in the 2001 Webby Awards beginning tomorrow at http://www.webbyawards.com.

In keeping with this year's dress theme, the top movers and shakers in cyber-culture, entertainment, media, and politics showed up at San Francisco's Masonic Auditorium in their "snazziest" attire. The Webby Awards were viewed online around the globe via a live Webcast on Yahoo! Entertainment (http://yahoo.entertainment/webby). After the gala event, winners, nominees, judges, guests, and friends rubbed elbows at the post-ceremony bash in San Francisco's breathtaking Huntington Park.

For high-res photos of The Webby Awards, visit http://www.webbyawards.com/press/photos.html.

Webby Awards 2000 Winners

Activism, AdBusters, http://www.adbusters.org

Arts, WebStalker, http://www.backspace.org/iod/iod4Winupdates.html

Broadband, Video Farm, http://www.videofarm.com

Commerce, BabyCenter, http://www.babycenter.com

Community, Café Utne, http://cafe.utne.com/cafe

Education, Merriam-Webster Word Central, http://www.wordcentral.com

Fashion, Paul Smith, http://www.paulsmith.co.uk

Film, Atom Films, http://www.atomfilms.com

Finance, Gomez.com, http://www.gomez.com

Games, Gamespy Industries, http://www.gamespy.com

Health, ThriveOnline, http://www.thriveonline.com

Humor, The Onion, http://www.theonion.com

Kids, Scholastic.com , http://www.scholastic.com

Living, Epicurious, http://www.epicurious.com

Music, Napster, http://www.napster.com

News, Jim Romenesko's Media News, http://www.poynter.org/medianews

Personal Web Sites, Cocky Bastard, http://www.cockybastard.com

Politics and Law, Politics.com, http://www.politics.com

Print and Zines, Nerve, http://www.nerve.com

Radio, Lost and Found Sound, http://www.lostandfoundsound.com

Science, The Cave of Lascaux, http://www.culture.fr/culture/arcnat/lascaux

Services, Evite, http://www.evite.com

Sports, ESPN, http://espn.go.com

Technical Achievement, Google, http://www.google.com

Travel, Outside Online, http://www.outsidemag.com

Television, MSNBC, http://www.msnbc.com

Weird, Stile Project, http://www.stileproject.com

People's Voice Winners

Activism, The Hunger Site, http://www.hungersite.com

Arts, SFMOMA Presents Bill Viola,