The Webby Awards® 2000 Reveal Nominees For Best Web Sites of The Year

http://www.webbyawards.com

SAN FRANCISCO (MARCH 14, 2000) – Crowning an extraordinary year in which the Internet set off seismic shifts everywhere from Hollywood to Wall Street to Main Street, the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences* today unveiled the nominees for the 4th Annual Webby Awards.

Shining a spotlight on the very best of the Internet's 800 million-plus Web sites, the Academy announced five nominees in 27 categories ranging from: Activism to Arts, Commerce to Film, and Music to Weird. A complete list of nominees follows this announcement.

Widely hailed as "the Oscars of the Internet," The Webby Awards are the leading international honors for Web sites. The awards are presented by the Academy, a 350-member organization dedicated to the creative, professional, and technical advancement of new media.

More than 3,000 digerati and celebrities from around the globe will attend the awards, which have quickly become the Internet's biggest night of the year thanks to its irreverent attitude, outrageous fashions, and five-words-or-less speech limit.

"This year's nominations reflect the incredible breadth of the Internet – from wildly popular Web sites to wonderful, unheard of gems," said Tiffany Shlain, the founder and director of The Webby Awards. "What links them, however, is that they represent the best of the best in a medium that grows at an increasingly dizzying pace everyday."

Shlain attributed the diversity of this year's nominees to the Webbys' first ever call for entries, which she said resulted in thousands of submissions from more than 27 countries.

The Webby Awards are judged by The Academy, whose members include David Bowie judging in Music; actor Patrick Stewart in Travel; cyber-guru Esther Dyson in Activism; Simpsons creator Matt Groening in Humor; BCBG designer Max Azria in Fashion; Performance Artist Laurie Anderson in Arts; and Arianna Huffington in Politics & Law.

Continuing a four-year-old tradition, the public can also vote for their favorite Web sites in The People's Voice Awards. Beginning today, online fans can cast their ballots at the official Webby Awards site http://www.webbyawards.com.

The Webby Awards and People's Voice Awards voting process is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Winners will be announced at The Webby Awards 2000 on May 11, 2000 at San Francisco's historic Nob Hill Masonic Center. The entire event will be Webcast at http://www.webbyawards.com beginning at 8:00 PM PST. The winners of The People's Voice Awards will also be announced during the live Webcast.

The Webby Awards 2000 Nominees

Activism

Protest Net http://www.protest.net

The Hunger Site http://www.hungersite.com

The Action Network http://www.actionnetwork.org

Adbusters http://www.adbusters.org

American Civil Liberties Union http://www.aclu.org

Arts

PHON:E:ME http://phoneme.walkerart.org

EasyLife.Org http://easylife.org

netomat http://www.netomat.net

SFMOMA Presents Bill Viola

http://www.sfmoma.org/EXHIB/viola/fr_splash.html

Web Stalker http://www.backspace.org/iod/iod4Winupdates.html

Broadband

Video Farm http://www.videofarm.com

IFILM http://www.ifilm.com

Atom Films http://www.atomfilms.com

WireBreak http://www.wirebreak.com/home/index.php3

Congo Trek http://www.nationalgeographic.com/congotrek

Commerce

eToys http://www.etoys.com

accompany.com http://www.accompany.com

Babycenter http://www.babycenter.com

Gear.com http://www.gear.com

Amazon http://www.amazon.com

Community

Slashdot http://slashdot.org/

MTBR http://www.mtbr.com

ICQ http://www.icq.com

Craig's List http://www.craigslist.org

Utne Café http://cafe.utne.com/cafe/

Education

A Science Odyssey http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aso/