The Webby Awards 2000(R) Roll Out the Red Carpet for Stars of Stage, Screen and Beyond

SAN FRANCISCO, APRIL 14 — Reflecting the remarkable range of the medium it honors, The Webby Awards 2000 today unveiled a dazzling, diverse list of celebrities and luminaries who will be participating in this year's highly-anticipated awards show on May 11th.

In a nod to his Tony Award-winning portrayal of the Emcee in the hit Broadway revival of Cabaret, organizers announced that acclaimed actor Alan Cumming will serve as the evening's Master of Ceremonies.

Cumming, who has appeared in numerous films and television programs, including Eyes Wide Shut and Titus, will also be responsible for holding winners to the Webby's trademark five-word speech limit.

Widely hailed as "the 0scars of the Internet," The Webby Awards are the leading international honors for Web sites.The awards are presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences.More than 3,000 people will descend on San Francisco's Nob Hill for the awards, while millions more will tune in to the live Webcast. (For more details visit

Tiffany Shlain, the founder and director of the awards, also revealed a preliminary list of high profile presenters.According to Shlain, Tina Brown, the editor in chief of Talk Magazine, will present the Best Print/Zine Site, actress and comedian Sandra Bernhard will present the Best Weird Site, and performance artist Laurie Anderson, will present the first annual SFMOMA Webby Prize for Excellence in Online Art.

The Webby Awards 2000 will be judged by the 350-person Academy, whose members include Francis Ford Coppola in Film; Esther Dyson in Finance; David Bowie in Music; Robin Williams in Games; Deepak Chopra in Health; Julia Child in Living; Sir Richard Branson in Travel; Parker Posey in Film; and Haley Joel Osment in Kids.

"The incredible mix of original performers, artists, innovators, and thinkers on board for this year's Webby Awards truly reflect the diversity of the Web," said Shlain."Their involvement is going to make for a wildly entertaining evening."

About the Webby Awards

Widely hailed as the "Oscars of the Internet," The Webby Awards are the leading international honors for Web sites.Nominees and winners are chosen by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences.The Webby Awards are an IDG event. Sponsors for the 2000 Webby Awards include Intel, Hewlett- Packard, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Adobe, Modern Media, Flyswat, Visa, Warburg Dillon Read, BeSeen, Xpedior, AboveNet, Audi, commission junction,, PlanetClick,, Fleishman Hillard, netRaker, The Creative Group, Netpulse,, Entertainment Weekly, Business 2.0, Access Magazine,, Metropolis Editorial, ArtByte, MacWorld, San Francisco Bay Guardian, MacWorld Expo, MSN bCentral, Internet World, Upside Media, and We Also Walk Dogs. Balloting is audited by PricewaterhouseCoopers. For more information, visit

About IDG

The Webby Awards is a business unit of IDG, the world's leading IT media, research and exposition company. IDG publishes more than 290 computer magazines and newspapers and 4,000 book titles and offers online users the largest network of technology-specific sites around the world through (, which comprises more than 250 targeted Web sites in 55 countries.IDG is also a leading producer of 168 computer-related expositions worldwide, and provides IT market analysis through 49 offices in 42 countries worldwide.Company information is available at